* * North Carolina Attorneys and Paralegals * *
During this COVID-19 emergency, the Secretary of State's Office is pleased to offer a temporary electronic notary (e-notary) continuing legal education (CLE) class to attorneys and paralegals through an on-demand video course. You have been selected as part of a small pilot group to begin taking the course and exam.
This Online Electronic Notary Course is not designed to take the place of e-notary classes offered at universities, community colleges and public school systems, but is a temporary option until our educational institutions are allowed to resume normal operations. We are looking to provide practical alternatives while we all are social distancing.
During these times of social distancing, we know that many of our notaries are finding it challenging to perform notarial acts. We also know that your clients and customers are relying on you to complete business and legal transactions that require notarial services.
When you become an e-notary, you are allowed to apply your electronic signature and seal on an electronic document allowing for a paperless transaction. Under current law, the in-person requirement to perform both traditional and electronic notarization has been modified temporarily to allow for video notarization until Aug 1, 2020, when the in-person requirement will return.
This three-hour on-demand course will allow you to take the e-notary test and ultimately register as an eNotary. The course and exam are available right now for you to take at your convenience. Reminder: you need to be a current commissioned North Carolina notary to take this class. Please have your notary number and password ready. You can find your notary number or reset your password from the menu on the right when logging in.
To take the free course (generally a cost of $50 to $100 at a community college), please begin by registering at:www.sosnc.gov/ereg
There is a $7.50 fee for the downloadable Electronic Notary Manual that you receive after the book fee is paid. The link to the manual and course videos will be sent in a confirmation e-mail, along with other CLE instructions. After completing the exam, you will be allow to file an application, which includes a $50 fee by statue, however the course comes at no charge.
We appreciate your willingness to help our state continue moving transactions forward while we are in the middle of this pandemic. If you have any questions about the course or CLE credit, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.